

## **Presentation of the Jaap Schijve Award**

An award for a young researcher who has made an outstanding contribution to scientific progress in structural fatigue and damage tolerance as applied to aerospace





# Established in 2007 by TU Delft and NLR



- Biennial award
- Named after Prof Schijve on the occasion of his 80<sup>th</sup> birthday
- Recognition of new talent in disciplines of Aeronautical Fatigue and Structural Integrity
- Presented on last day of the ICAF symposium by courtesy of ICAF





# Previous award recipients



- 2009: Dr Michael Shepard (AFRL, USA)
- 2011: Dr René Alderliesten (TU Delft, The Netherlands)
- 2013: Dr Chris Wallbrink (DST-G, Australia)
- 2015: Dr Martin Kadlec (VZLU, Czech Republic)
- 2017: Dr Shu Minakuchi (University of Tokyo, Japan)
- 2019: Dr Adam L. Pilchak (AFRL, USA)













## Shortlist of candidates

#### Six (!) outstanding candidates for the 2021 Award

- Mr Lior Bachar Ben-Gurion University, Israel
- Dr Lucas Amaro De Oliveira Aeronautics Institute of Technology, Brazil
- Dr Joris Everaerts Laboratory of Mechanical Metallurgy, EPFL, Switzerland
- Mr Rielson Miler Moreira Falck Technische Universität Hamburg in Germany
- **Dr Simone Romano** Politecnico di Milano, Italy
- Dr Dimitrios Zarouchas Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands



# Selection committee

#### **International experts**

- Dr. Min Liao (National Research Council, Canada)
- Mr. Ben Main (Defence Science and Technology, Australia)
- Prof.dr. Xiasheng Sun (Chinese Aeronautical Establishment)

#### **Netherlands Aerospace Centre NLR**

- Ir. Michel Peters (General Director)
- Ir. Marcel Bos

#### **Delft University of Technology**

• N/A

#### **Selection criteria**

- scientific quality of the work
- quality of the publications in peer reviewed journal articles
- relevance to fatigue and damage tolerance
- impact on aerospace engineering



# Jaap Schijve Award for Young Researchers



Presented to **Dr Simone Romano** during the webinar on Wednesday 30 June 2021 by the Royal Netherlands Aerospace Centre NLR and Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands

# <section-header><section-header><text><text><text><text><text>